Top Menu

Illinois Seminar Testimonials

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

“I am all about simple strategies kids can learn to solve problems themselves and that’s exactly what this seminar taught me today.” – Valeri McKee, Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (6.24.10)

“Bully-proofing seminar was fabulous. I couldn’t agree more with the information that was provided. I can now return to my school and start implementing a ‘victim-proof’ school!” – Jenifer Gronik, Counselor, Naperville, Illinoi (6.24.10)

“Very different view of looking at bullying. Now I feel like I can direct my students to some techniques that might actually work. I have a much better understanding of bullying now.” – Sayalee Patil, Counselor, Chicago, Illinois (6.24.10)

“Loved this presentation. Will be very practical tool for my clients.” – L.G., Social Worker, Naperville, Illinois (6.24.10)

“Great presentation! I think that Izzy Kalman was a great speaker and I learned a lot.” – Laura Donahue, Federal Probation Officer, Naperville, Illinois (6.24.10)

“Very helpful seminar. I will definitely use role play more often with my student clients.” – Carol Doolin, Psychologist, Naperville, Illinois (6.24.10)

“I think people are thinking too hard about your concept – it’s simple to diffuse an argument. I think you did an amazing job! I enjoyed your technique of teaching…simple and direct. And love that you added the demos.” – Rachelle Carlton, Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (6.24.10)

“Izzy packed much info into one seminar. I can’t wait to try these ideas in both my personal and professional life. I signed up for my job and learned things for me.” Eric L. Wooding, Counselor/Social Worker/Educator/Play Therapist, Peoria, Illinois (6.23.10)

“Great role player, very natural. Obviously very versed on topic. The time flew by.” – Ken Thomsen, Case Manager, Schaumberg, Illinois (6.22.10)

“This has been one of the best seminars I’ve been to so far. The presenter did a great job in presenting the material and it’s an issue that we deal with on an every day basis.” – Miriam Covarrubias, Counselor, Schaumberg, Illinois (6.22.10)

“Loved this seminar! Such practical, teachable solutions to ‘real-world’ problems, relationships and life situation. Role plays are excellent.” – Kathleen Eastman, Social Worker, Schaumberg, Illinois (6.22.10)

“Great because it was practical.” – B.B., Educator, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Excellent program!” – Michael Cortina, Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“How refreshing! A return to common sense-great ideas to truly help kids problem solve, cope, and become successful in living lives! For the past few years our teachers have talked about the noticeable inability of problem solving; we’ve contributed to it.” – Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“The program was very worthwhile and the workbook is a valuable tool. The strategies in this program can help students be more confident when dealing with peer and family conflicts when they involve relationship interactions. Great seminar!” – Jack Royhl, Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Excellent information We plan to completely re-vamp our program! Thank you.” – Educator, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Izzy was a phenomenal presenter. The order of topics discussed flowed and it was hard not to pay attention. It was educational, fun and extremely worthwhile. Best conference I have ever attended.” – Mary Ventrella, Social Worker, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Bully-proofing seminar was fabulous. I couldn’t agree more with the information that was provided. I can now return to my school and start implementing a ‘victim-proof’ school!” – Jenifer Gronik, Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Informative and entertaining! Izzy made clear to me the need to victim-proof our schools.” – Priscilla Drown, Educator, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“This seminar has such relevance for anyone working in school settings.” – Marcia Gibson, Psychologist, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“I’ve known for years of making friends with the ‘bully.’ Now I know how to teach kids to do that!” – Linda J. Wright, Psychologist, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Interesting, informative, entertaining. Made me think about and rethink how to deal with bullying behavior. Fresh and positive approach.” – Laura Hunger, Social Worker, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)
“Thanks for bringing back common sense, the Golden Rule and turning the other cheek. This is how we were taught in school and home.” – W.S., Educator, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Great presentation; down to earth practical applicable information.” – Margaret Lamary-Speciale, Art Therapist, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Seminar manual was very well organized and will be extremely helpful.” – Richard Lyon, Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Interesting and a different perspective than I’ve heard before. I hope to use it.” – Angela Vali, Psychologist, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“I found the seminar very informative, insightful and practical. I appreciate the innovative way to address the concept of fear, which paralyzes so many victims. I now understand it to be as simple as seeing your enemy as your friend. It reminds me of a quote I often use (unknown source): ‘I treat you with respect not because you are respectable, but because I am.'” – Jeff Wood, Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“I appreciate hearing a different perspective on this topic. It gave me some great ideas for how to help children respond in situation.” – Laura Krystal, Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“I am all about simple strategies kids can learn to solve problems themselves and that’s exactly what this seminar taught me today.” – Valeri McKee, Counselor, Naperville, Illinois (4.30.09)

“Excellent role playing experiences! This seminar was one of the most enjoyable and provided real tools that I’ve been to in years. Izzy’s humor truly added to my learning experience.” – Karon Seib, Counselor, Bloomington, Illinois (4.29.09)

“Very informative and relevant to today’s educational climate. A fresh new way of thinking about anti-bullying programs. Useful, practical strategies to implement immediately in my clinical setting.” – Kimberly Holstein, Social Worker, Bloomington, Illinois (4.29.09)

“Challenged my thinking of bullying behaviors/responses to bullying.” – Frank Bates, Counselor, Bloomington, Illinois (4.29.09)

“Excellent topic, excellent presenter. Down-to-earth, practical, creative presentation about a challenging issue. I enjoyed it very much.” – Kristen Pollina, Psychologist, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.28.09)

“The best seminar in years! Full of wisdom and hands-on, useful information. Not enough time with this presenter-he is excellent at explaining the concepts and demonstrating their applications. The course workbook is also full of useful information.” M.R., Counselor, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.28.09)

“I can’t wait to use the information that I learned!” – Shelly-Ann Koduah, Educator, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.28.09)

“One of the few seminars that I have attended that provided techniques/strategies that I can immediately start using at my school. Bravo!” – Social Worker, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.28.09)

“Excellent presentation and extremely knowledgeable speaker! Great info!” – Susan Kavich, Educator, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.28.09)

“Very helpful in diffusing power struggles. A new way of looking at student misbehavior and teacher responses. A great way of helping to empower kids and encourage them to solve their own problems.” – Cheryl Alton, Counselor, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.28.09)

“Instructor was excellent – just what I hoped to find for anger control instruction.” – Mauree Murley, Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counselor/Educator, Chicago, Illinois (2.7.08)

“Great! I learned a lot and will use the strategies in my personal life. The attendee-presenter interaction and role playing was fun, helped hold our attention and made the information easy to digest. A very fast 7 hours! P.S. I think it could have been helpful to accentuate (in the question regarding cursing at a spouse) that the end justifies the means. The knee-jerk reaction is to preserve self-respect but this just continues the cycle. If the wife ignores the curses, they will lose their power and eventually stop, theoretically.” Carrie Hadley, Non-Profit Coordinator, Chicago, Illinois (2.7.08)

“This was an excellent seminar with a concept that I know and believes works. Being a friend, instead of an enemy. This very Biblical base of loving one another.” – Julio Pena, Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (2.7.08)

“Excellent seminar! Not only he was addressing great insights and useful principals, but also he showed hands on role-plays and explanations we can understand clearly.” – Eunjung Lyu, Counselor, Chicago, Illinois (2.7.08)

“I liked the use of role plays to respond to questions and to teach the game. The song was great! The handout has a lot of info and resources. Well done.” – Jean Goldrosen, Occupational Therapist/Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (2.7.08)

“The role play is very effective. You have provided a great tool to be used in my practice. I am anxious to try this out. Loved your sense of humor. Completeness of booklet is appreciated. Will use it as a resource. I didn’t want to sleep even once!!! Thanks. It was enjoyable and helpful!” – Carol Gilbert, Counselor/Nurse, Chicago, Illinois (2.7.08)

“I must review this information and then actively practice these skills. This seminar has caused me to rethink how effective my responses are to the children, the parents, and the persons with whom I live. Izzy’s humor is refreshing, appropriate and playful. Thank you for this honest play and solid information.” – Ruth Evermann, Educator/Counselor/Art Therapist, Chicago, Illinois (2.7.08)

“The training was very insightful and challenging and it is easy to use in real life practice setting for all kinds of relationship conflicts as well as to help myself improve the interpersonal skills in work, family, and social relationship.” – Gyounghee Lee, Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (2.7.08)

“Thank you for the great seminar. It gave me a new perspective on anger and how to handle other’s aggression. I loved the role playing. Would like to hear more about helping the agggressors more – but I can see how they are also victims.” – Stacey Lefing, Counselor, Chicago, Illinois (2.7.08)

“Speaker was a bit eccentric, not boring, and presented information that is really controversial. While I didn’t agree with everything presented, I enjoyed being made to think out of the box.” – Jeff Williams, Counselor/Pastor, Bloomington, Illinois (2.6.08)

“Excellent seminar – very helpful. Instructor was excellent. I can’t wait to try these techniques.” – Jo Ann Wilson, Social Worker, Bloomington, Illinois (2.6.08)

“I am very glad that I attended this program. Izzy stated something like, ‘None of this is new – it’s just put in an order and fashion you can understand,’ and I loved this! There were pieces of this presentation that definitely made me have ‘ah ha’ moments. I am going to implement many pieces of today with my students as well as in my personal life. Thank you!” – Stephanie Drane, Counselor, Bloomington, Illinois (2.6.08)

“The idea that the victim in a bully situation must be responsible for his reaction is so old school. I love it. Victim mentality is sapping the nation’s moral strength. Thank you for taking a stand.” – Dale Theirrien, Public School Behavior Consultant, Bloomington, Illinois (2.6.08)

“Excellent! Role-playing was very helpful. Felt so clear about how to apply when I walk out of here today. The best workshop I’ve been to. Thank you.” – Gay Russell, Social Worker, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.05.08)

“The approach using the role play ‘game’ is essential to help a client offset previous conditioning that makes anger a ‘life and death’ issue.” – Leo Dhont, Social Worker, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.05.08)
“Brilliant insights. Would like a two day seminar to practice applying these techniques.” – Brian King, Social Worker, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.05.08)

“Excellent presentation, great humor, enjoyable as well as great educational learning experience.” – Amy Royals, Social Worker, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.05.08)

“I respect the speaker for daring to say that we psychotherapists need to examine our own hostility before being able to help clients with anger.” – Mary Hurtienne, Social Worker, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.05.08)

“Very good seminar that kept interest level high. I agree with the principles and look forward to using them with my clients!” – Jacklyn Hovde, Counselor, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.05.08)

“I suspect I enjoyed it so much because I agreed with the majority of what he said! I get bored easily at trainings and was surprised to find myself so engaged. Lots of meat. Translatable learnings.” – Robyn Norman, Counselor, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.05.08)

“This seminar was everything I expected and more! Thank you!!” – Melissa Franzen, Counselor, Schaumberg, Illinois (2.05.08)

“I really liked the interactive role plays and finding a new way to look at bullies and victims. Redefining those terms has been very beneficial for me. I can say this has been a day spent gaining worthwhile information. I would recommend this workshop to all who work in a school setting.” – Joyce Johnson-James, Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“I liked the nonstandard approach to reducing bullying – it will definitely change the way I work with kids around these issues. I’m excited to teach these techniques to parents.” – Beth Shapiro, Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“Mr. Kalman, thanks for putting my experience and perception of how bullying should be ‘controlled’. By giving the victim the tools to manage and diffuse the ‘bullies’, in turn gives the victim a position of power and a way to improved self-esteem.” – Maxine Couble, Counselor/Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“Very different view of looking at bullying. Now I feel like I can direct my students to some techniques that might actually work. I have a much better understanding of bullying now.” – Sayalee Patil, Counselor, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“This seminar was excellent. The course content was amazingly easy to learn and implement. The presenter’s style was easy to listen to, as well as hilarious.” – Cynthia Schwartz, Counselor, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“Your advice is practical and empowering. You take the victim and turn him into the one with power.” – Ann Hofmeier, Assistant Principal, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“This seminar provided a different perspective of bullying. The presenter was able to knowledgeably explain his ideas and made them seem easy to apply whether you are a parent or a mental health professional.” – Kristin Kral, Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

I really liked the interactive role plays and finding a new way to look at bullies and victims. Redefining those terms has been very beneficial for me. I can say this has been a day spent gaining worthwhile information. I would recommend this workshop to all who work in a school setting.” – Joyce Johnson-James, Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“I liked the nonstandard approach to reducing bullying – it will definitely change the way I work with kids around these issues. I’m excited to teach these techniques to parents.” – Beth Shapiro, Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“Mr. Kalman, thanks for putting my experience and perception of how bullying should be ‘controlled’. By giving the victim the tools to manage and diffuse the ‘bullies’, in turn gives the victim a position of power and a way to improved self-esteem.” – Maxine Couble, Counselor/Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“Very different view of looking at bullying. Now I feel like I can direct my students to some techniques that might actually work. I have a much better understanding of bullying now.” – Sayalee Patil, Counselor, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“This seminar was excellent. The course content was amazingly easy to learn and implement. The presenter’s style was easy to listen to, as well as hilarious.” – Cynthia Schwartz, Counselor, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“Your advice is practical and empowering. You take the victim and turn him into the one with power.” – Ann Hofmeier, Assistant Principal, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“This seminar provided a different perspective of bullying. The presenter was able to knowledgeably explain his ideas and made them seem easy to apply whether you are a parent or a mental health professional.” – Kristin Kral, Social Worker, Chicago, Illinois (4.27.06)

“Although considered controversial, it was completely refreshing to hear a professional in our field discuss issues of morality and taking personal responsibility for our feelings and actions! It seemed that the objectives discussed in the seminar reach far beyond the ‘bullying’ issue and extend into all of us living a better life.” – Traci Graue, School Social Worker, Bloomington, Illinois (4.26.06)

“Very interesting strategy that goes against everything we’ve been reading. It will be interesting to see if our faculty/administration will ‘buy’ into the ideas. This is simply due to the fact that we are stuck in a rut defending all of the victims.” – Heather Strom, Counselor, Bloomington, Illinois (4.26.06)

“Very interesting perspective – it takes time for me to incorporate such a paradigm shift, however. I think this is why you may get low ratings, if you do. You are plowing new ground. ‘All truth is initially rejected’ someone once said! I am a school counselor. Much of the funding for my position has come from grants for ‘bullying prevention’. I never felt good about this and never knew why. Now I am beginning to see why: it did not follow logical thinking.” – Georgia Lewis, Counselor, Bloomington, Illinois (4.26.06)

“Thanks for bringing this bold and timely issue/method to audiences. This idealogy is overdo!” – Michael S. Trieger, Psy.D., Bloomington, Illinois (4.26.06)

“A whole new way to look at bullying. It’s worth a try – my methods aren’t working!” – Cathy Kahle, Educator, Bloomington, Illinois (4.26.06)

“Your seminar has caused me to look at this topic from a startling new perspective. What an eye opener to see that my efforts to rescue ‘victims’ have done more harm – no, only harm. I appreciate your down-to-earth way of teaching and the fact that you provide practical applications of your teachings.” – Norma Corona, Psychologist, Schaumberg, Illinois (4.24.06)

“Great alternative approach to Bullies. I enjoyed the different viewpoint and feel I can use it in my everyday world –  both professionally and personally! Thank you!” – Renee Dorn, Counselor, Schaumberg, Illinois (4.24.06)

“Great seminar! The information is very realistic and practical. I really enjoyed the way the information was presented and the role-playing. I like the manual and how the information is hands on/simple and so realistic. I wish this seminar was provided to all schools.” Tania Boigues, Social Worker, Schaumberg, Illinois (4.24.06)

“Great seminar! I like your thoughts and ideas – finally someone is making people take responsibility for their actions and not making everyone into victims. I love the fact that you give practical hands on tools to use with our students.” – Betsy van Noord, Social Worker, Schaumberg, Illinois (4.24.06)
“Kudos to Izzy for doing such an energetic presentation despite his laryngitis! Great job showing how current anti-bullying programs are designed to disempower rather than empower children.” – Demetra Kallens, Educator/Counselor, Schaumberg, Illinois (4.24.06)

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes